Skip navigation

I think ‘ve been fairly clear that I’m not currently playing Wildstar, and on the whole it’s not really appealing to me. On the other hand, part of me does want to pick up a copy or at least blag a guest code from somewhere to try it for a few days. After all, I’ve stuck my nose in on almost every major Western MMO release so far.

So I’d like to thank Jeromai for alerting me to Wildstar’s Twelve Step Program for raid access, which has done a lot to quell those urges. Not because I was in any great hurry to raid in that game, in the same way that I did very little raiding in LotRO, RIFT or SWTOR – but in all of those games, the option was there once you reached level cap and took a little care with your gear. Wildstar, however, sets out its stall by raising an impudent digit and yelling “FUCK YOU, CASUAL!” to any poor sod who doesn’t want to make it their life’s work just to get in the front door of raiding. Look, I played vanilla WoW – I’ve been through attunement for Molten Core, Blackwing Lair and Onyxia. That chart looks to be on a par with doing all three of those attunements just to get into your first raid.

I do particularly like the comments on that Wildstar forum thread about “Casuals don’t deserve to raid”. Thank you sir, now I know that I can only have any sense of worth once I have earned your respect by enduring a tedious and degrading initiation ritual. Oh wait, I’m not some 19 year old trying to pledge to a fraternity, willing to walk on my lips through busted glass to get the respect of the cool kids. I’m old enough to be that kid’s father and my sense of self-worth is pretty well-grounded, thank you. If I’m going to raid, it’s because it’s something that’s fun to do, and at best Carbine have declared that they’re A-OK with hiding the fun behind a wall of grind. At worst, I have to suspect that behind that wall may just be… more grind.

So hey, Wildstar, at this point I’m going to have to flip your digit right back at you and jog along. Give me a call some time when you actually WANT players.

4 Comments

  1. “Casuals don’t deserve to raid”

    It’s that stuff that sickens me about MMO forums. The sheer ignorance and arrogance of that statement alone – yeah, why should other paying customers deserve the same as you, right?

    All I can say is, I hope they change it.

  2. While I agree that massive raid attunements probably aren’t a good idea in this day and age and understand your dislike for the attitudes expressed by some of those forum posters… I have to admit that I don’t quite understand your hostility towards the concept as a whole. You’re still playing and enjoying ESO, right? Doesn’t that have these things called veteran ranks where you have to go through a whole lot of content before you’re able to access the next tier? How is that so different from other models of “having to do lots of A before you can access B”?

    • Not really the same thing in my mind – veteran ranks are levels in all but name. There’s a lot less resistance to the idea of dungeons and raids having minimum level requirements, and you can level up in most MMOs in a variety of ways so can choose to do it in a way you enjoy. On that Wildstar chart, getting to level cap is just step one of the twelve, and the other eleven give you a lot less choice in what you have to do to meet their requirements.

  3. I looked at that chart from another perspective: they know how difficult it is to keep up with developing raid content a pace that keeps up with players. Making raiding an exceedingly rare thing seems to be their genuine strategy.

    Maybe they want most guilds to be non-raiding guilds. Maybe they only want a couple of hardcore guilds and zero “casual” or other non-hardcore guilds. Maybe the idea is that players who want to do the attunement will flock to the few raiding guilds that exist.

    Somehow I do think they were aiming to mitigate development time of raid content. But in the process its not clear to me that they looked at whether the model would be acceptable to their core playerbase – which is undoubtedly of the non-raider variety.


2 Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. […] judgement is probably the way to go while the game is new and we’re all newbies still, it’s hard to stay positive when reading through the same old vitriolic forum discussions of “casual versus […]

  2. […] after getting all disgusted over asinine raid attunements I’ve actually ended up with a copy of Wildstar after all. You can blame ‘social […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

