Skip navigation

Once again, November is National Novel Writing Month, where the challenge is to start a novel from scratch and attempt churn out 50,000 words by the end of the month.

I’m not doing that.

I did try last year, and while I didn’t make the official target I did break the 40,000 word mark and completed twelve chapters of a fantasy novel by dint of using a week’s annual leave and cancelling my social life for a month. In the ensuing eleven months, I’ve completed exactly one more chapter.

This year I’ve got too much going on at work to even try repeating last year’s feat, so I’ve set myself an alternative target. The aim is to produce 15,000 words, that’s 500 per day, and plough on towards finishing a first draft of By Light And Shadow (the aforementioned fantasy novel). Hopefully, I can find a way of working that lets me produce a steady amount of writing without having to give up my job, my family or all of my gaming time. If I can keep up that level of steady output I can produce first drafts in well under a year, as opposed to my current rate of taking all of eternity. And if I can finish a draft, I can think about polishing and maybe even trying to sell some stories.

Wish me luck. I’m going to need it.

One Comment

  1. Good luck!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

